Tags

I got these great tags off of this blog.  Enjoy!

What is your favourite thing about Jane Austen? Why?

That’s a tough question for me to answer.  I would have to say it’s her great perception of human character and her humor.  I also enjoy how she makes two complicated (and not always likeable) characters come together under difficult circumstances.  That pretty much sums it up.

What are your top three favourite Jane Austen Novels and why?

Before I answer this let me say that I love all of Jane Austen’s novels.  Nevertheless I have my favorites.

Emma – This is the most humorous of all of Austen’s works.  I just finished reading it and it’s in my top three definitely.

Sense and Sensibility – I can’t explain why I love S and S so much.  I know that many people find it the most dry of all her novels but I strongly disagree.

Mansfield Park – Another Austen book that people call boring but it’s a really good book.  (My fav Austen hero is Edmund by the way).  It’s very complex which gives greater enjoyment when you can read AND understand it.

Who are your top three favourite Jane Austen Heroines and why?

Elinor  – She’s pretty (in a quiet way), she calm, and she’s clear-headed.

Emma – She is a bit of a snob but her good qualities do outweigh her bad ones (except for that Box Hill incident)

Fanny – She doesn’t seem like a very good heroine but she has a quiet strength that isn’t totally seen at first (even I couldn’t understand at first why she refused to act)

That’s it for Part 1!

