Tags

, , ,

Every time I watch this movie I fall in love with it all over again.  The beginning, the middle, and the ending especially are all wonderful.

Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet are perfect in their respective roles as Elinor and Marianne.  I know that Emma is too old to be a proper Elinor but I couldn’t picture her any other way.

I think all the male actors are well cast too, especially Alan Rickman as Colonel Brandon.  He brings life to what many people consider a dull character.

I love the cinematography of this film.  Everything is so perfectly beautiful.  And I can’t even begin to describe the lovely music especially ‘Throw the Coins’.  Shivers run up my back whenever I hear it.

Even though I’ve watched S and S several times, I find that by the time I get to just before Edward’s proposal, I’m as tense as Elinor must be.  I always cry at his proposal and the wedding.  Such a happy ending to all their troubles.

Um, I believe I got a little carried away.  But I just couldn’t resist putting up all those lovely photos.

Sense and Sensibility is my favorite Jane Austen film (mostly because of the beautiful ending) and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Let me end with Marianna’s favorite sonnet.

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O no! it is an ever-fixed mark 
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;

It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come:
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

