Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today I’ll just be posting a few random things.

I am Elinor Dashwood!

You are Elinor Dashwood of Sense and Sensibility!  You are practical, circumspect, and discreet. Though you are tremendously sensible and allow your head to rule, you have a deep, emotional side that few people often see.

If you want to take the quiz, go here.

I think I’m like Elinor in more ways than one.  I certainly relate to her better than I do the other Austen heroines.  Let me know what you are.

***

I would just like to talk a little bit about my favorite heroines and why they are my favorites.

Emma Woodhouse – Emma is my all-time favorite Jane Austen heroine although (thankfully) I’m nothing like her.  To me, she seems somewhat the most human of all Jane Austen’s heroines because she makes mistakes and has to live with the circumstances that go with them.  But underneath all her meddling, Emma is very kind-hearted and always means to do well.

Elinor Dashwood – Elinor is another one of my top favorites (there’s a reason my blog is called Elinor and Emma).  Elinor embodies the qualities that I want to have. She calm, kind, understanding, and even witty (“Not everyone has your passion for dead leaves, Marianne).  Elinor keeps her wits about her when Marianne is ill.  She provides a firm rock for her mother and Marianne to lean on.  

Elizabeth Bennet – Elizabeth is the perfect example of a literary heroine.  Witty, energetic, and always ready to do what needs to be done.  Elizabeth is my third favorite heroine.  She has to cope with her two youngest sisters and to some extent her mother, and does it admirably.  She turns down two offers of marriage because she will not marry without love. 

Marianne Dashwood – Marianne Dashwood is a great favorite of mine.  She’s highly romantic and not afraid to speak her mind.  But Marianne is also a wonderful sister to Elinor and defends her several times (e.g. when Mrs. Ferrars is admiring Miss Morton’s painting).  And Marianne realizes, through the course of the book, that it is possible to fall in love for a second time (and to a much better man).

*** 

Heroine of the Day – Emma Woodhouse

If you want to get my opinion of Emma, just read the section in this post about her.  Emma is my favorite Austen heroine.

