Tags

,

What makes Jane Austen so re-readable?  I can finish Mansfield Park or Emma and start reading it all over again (I have done this more than once).  Or if I go somewhere and pick up a copy of a Jane Austen novel and start reading it, I can go home, pull out my personal copy and just read it all over again (I’ve done this too).

I think one of the reasons that Jane Austen is so readable is that every reading provides us with something new to think about.  I’ve read each of her novels (including Lady Susan, which I found quite interesting) several times over and each time I come upon something new that I had never seen.  Her writing is not ‘deep’ and complicated but it has many levels.  I love going through Northanger Abbey and seeing all the times she parodies the Gothic novel.

Do you find Austen re-readable?

